Lan Luo

About Me




Curriculum Vita

Lan Luo is an Associate Professor of Marketing at the University of Southern California. She is also the Ph.D. Coordinator of the Marketing Department and the Associate Academic Director of the Center for Global Innovation at the Marshall School of Business, University of Southern California. Lan holds a Ph.D. degree in Business (Major: Marketing) from the University of Maryland. Her current primary reserach interests are new product design and applications of artificial intelligence in marketing. Lan currently serves on the editorial review board of several major journals including Journal of Marketing Research, International Journal of Marketing Research, Journal of Interactive Marketing, and Customer Needs and Solutions. She is also an associate editor for Management Science's special issue on "Data-Driven Prescriptive Analytics".

Lan's research has been published in Marketing Science, Journal of Marketing Research, Journal of Marketing, among other journals. She is the recipient of the John D.C. Little Award (2008), the Donald R. Lehmann Award (2009 and 2019), and twice the finalist for the Paul E. Green Award (2009 and 2019). Lan also supervised two doctoral dissertations that were the recipients of the ISMS Doctoral Dissertation Competition Award in 2015 and 2018. Each is a major research award in the field of marketing. In 2011, she was also named as a MSI Young Scholar, awarded once every two years by Marketing Science Institute to scholars mostly likely to be "potential leaders of the next generation of Marketing academics". Additionally, Lan has been granted the Dean's Research Excellence Award (2010) by the Marshall School of Business. She also received Marshall's Golden Apple Award (2007) for her teaching excellence. Since 2018, Lan has consulted for commerical litigation involving product defects and counterfeits.

Office: HOH 319
USC Marshall School of Business
Los Angeles,  CA 90089
Phone: (213) 740-2497

  • Marvin Jolson Award
  • Golden Apple Award
  • Little Award
  • Little 2013
  • Donald R. Lehmann Award 2009
  • Dean's Research Award 2010
  • MSI Young Scholar